Awards, Competitions, Funding Grants

2014 EIB Prize for Excellence in Economic and Social Research

The EIB Institute announced that this year’s ‘Outstanding Contribution Award’ – with a prize of EUR 40,000 (Rs 32 Lakh) – will go jointly to Professors Nicholas Bloom (Department of Economics, Stanford University) and John Van Reenen (Centre for Economic Performance and Department of Economics, London School of Economics and Political Science) in acknowledgement of the academic excellence, work published and impact on public policy of their research on this year’s prize topic “Innovation, Market Structure and Competitiveness”.

eib prize economics

The jury of the 2014 EIB prize praised Prof. Nicholas Bloom and Prof. John Van Reenen: “ for their influential research assessing the interaction between company size and market structure and the impact of investment decisions on innovation and productivity in different sectors”.

The authors have been pioneers in analysing the effects of managerial and technological innovation on economic performance and inequality, developing new tools to measure organizational innovations in over 32 countries (the World Management Survey They have also examined the determinants of innovation, with a particular concentration on what policies influence productivity, such as competition, trade and regulations.

EIB President Werner Hoyer will present the EIB Prize on 25 September 2014 in Berlin.

To Top