Conferences and Events.

Microfinance India Summit 2010 from Nov 15-16 at Hotel Ashok, New Delhi.

The 6th Edition of the Microfinance India Summit, organized by ACCESS Development Services is scheduled to be held from November 15-16, 2010 at Hotel Ashok, New Delhi. The Microfinance India Summit has established itself as an international conference dedicated to Indian microfinance.

The theme for this year’s Summit is “Mission of Microfinance – Need to Reflect and Reaffirm”. The Microfinance India Summit sessions will focus on current trends and issues relating to sustainability, transparency, social performance, commercialization of the sector, client protection, among others.Microfinance India Summit 2010
Over a period of time it has become the most important platform for Microfinance Institutions in India.At the same time, it also provides an avenue to learn about international trends and best practices for adaptation by the Indian community of practitioners.

Policy makers, practitioners, promoters, academics, researchers and thought leaders share their experiences on various panels, and about 1000 delegates from both within and outside the country participate in the Summit. The summit bridges the unnecessary hiatus between models and methodologies and helps to build consensus on the critical challenges and issues.

In the past, the Summit themes have helped in focusing on key issues including “Inclusion, Innovation and Impact” (2005), “Urban Microfinance” (2006), “Formal Financial Institutions – the challenges of depth and breadth” (2007), “The Poor First” (2008) and “Doing good and doing well- The need for balance” (2009)

Tentative list of Speakers for Microfinance India Summit 2010

Y. C. NandaChairman, Agricultural Finance Corporation

Usha ThoratDeputy Governor, Reserve Bank of India*

U. C. SarangiChairman, NABARD

Chanda KoccharManaging Director, ICICI Bank*

Naina Lal Kidwai, Group General Manager and Country Head, HSBC India

Indrajit GuptaEditor, Forbes India*

N. SrinivasanAuthor, State of the Sector Report

H.R. Khan, Executive Director, RBI*

Rajiv Sabharwal, Executive Director, ICICI Bank

Sukriti Likhi, Director, Agriculture Credit and Financial Inclusion, Department of Financial Services, Ministry of Finance*

Steve Rasmussen, Technology Program Manager, CGAP

David Roodman, Senior Fellow, Center for Global Development

Rajiv Lal, MD and CEO, Infrastructure Development Finance Company (IDFC) and Co-founder, Lok Capital*

Micol Pistelli, Manager, Social Performance Program, MIX

David Devez, Senior Investment Manager, Incofin Investment Management

Aban Haque, Researcher, Pakistan Microfinance Network

Laura Foose, Chair, Social Performance Task Force

Frances Sinha, Director EDA Rural Systems, and Director of EDA’s associate company M-CRIL

Samit Ghosh, Founder and Managing Director, Ujjivan Financial Services

Colin Ewell Wesley Raymond, Credit Bureau Specialist, IFC

Javier Vaca, Executive Director, Red Financiera Rural

Shubankar Sen Gupta, Managing Director, Arohan Financial Services

P.R. Vishwanath, Consultant, ACCESS Development Services

Arun Thukral, MD, Credit Information Bureau (India) Limited

Siddhartha Das, ED, High Mark Credit Information Services

Prakash Bakshi, Executive Director, NABARD

Dr. Kalpana Sankar, CEO, Hand in Hand

Malcolm Harper, Professor Emeritus, Cranfield University

Chuck Waterfield, CEO and President, Microfinance Transparency

Gregory Chen, CGAP

Jenifer Isern, Regional Business line Leader, Access to Finance Advisory, South Asia, IFC

Vineet Rai, Founder and CEO, Aavishkar Venture Management Services

Diwakar Gupta, Deputy Managing Director, State Bank of India

K.R. Kamath, Chairman and Managing Director, Punjab National Bank

M.V. Nair, Chairman and Managing Director, Union Bank of India

Shikha Sharma, Managing Director and CEO, Axis Bank

Ajay Tankha, Development Consultant

Girija Srinivasan, Microfinance Consultant

S.L. Kumbhare, Chief General Manager, MCID, NABARD*

Arindom Datta, Director and Head Rural & Development Banking Advisory, Rabo India Finance*

C.S. Reddy, CEO, APMAS

Sudha Kothari, Chaitanya*

Dr. Y.S. P Thorat, Chairman, NABARD*

Justin Oliver, Executive Director, Center for Microfinance, IFMR Trust

Shreyas Gopinath, Center for Microfinance, IFMR Trust

Rajeev Khandelwal, Director, Aajveeka Bureau*

Abhishek Sinha, CEO, EKO Financials

Therese Zak, GTZ

Anil Kaul, ICICI Bank*

S.V.S. Anjaneyulu, Associate General Manager, Bayer CropScience Ltd.*

Sriram, Airtel

K.Manohara Raj, Business Head, Microfinance, HDFC*

S.A. Deval, AGM, Union Bank of India*

Kate Mckee, Senior Advisor, CGAP

P.N. Vasudevan, Managing Director, Equitas Microfinance

Rohini Nilekani, Chairperson, Arghyam

Niraj Verma, Senior Financial Sector Specialist, World Bank*

Rakesh Rewari, Deputy Managing Director, SIDBI*

Registration is now open for Microfinance India Summit 2010.

To register, please fill the registration form available on the Microfinance India website and send it to

Microfinance India Secretariat
ACCESS Development Services
First Floor,
28, Hauz Khas Village
New Delhi -110016

To Top